Here are the PWC Rules for all 50 States
Here are the PWC Rules for all 50 States
Posted on: July 23nd, 2020

Planning on hitting the water for your upcoming vacation? If you and your family are going to be on the backs of jet skis, it’s worth knowing the specific rules and regulations for each state. For example, your 14-year-old can’t operate a jet ski by himself in Maine and you need a boater’s license if you’re taking out a jet ski in Michigan. Here’s the scoop on age restrictions, boater education requirements and other PWC rules for all 50 states.

#1Alabama

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Alabama PWC laws here

#2Alaska

  • Age to ride: N/A
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Alaska PWC laws here

#3Arizona

  • Age to ride: 12
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Arizona PWC laws here

#4Arkansas

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Arkansas PWC laws here

#5California

  • Age to ride: 16
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about California PWC laws here

#6Colorado

  • Age to ride: 16, younger with boater education
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 14-15

Learn more about Colorado PWC laws here

#7Connecticut

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Connecticut PWC laws here

#8Delaware

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Delaware PWC laws here

#9Florida

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for PWC riders under 21

Learn more about Florida PWC laws here

#10Georgia

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 12-15

Learn more about Georgia PWC laws here

#11Hawaii

  • Age to ride: 15
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Hawaii PWC laws here

#12Idaho

  • Age to ride: N/A
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Idaho PWC laws here

#13Illinois

  • Age to ride: 18, 12 years old with boater education
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Illinois PWC laws here

#14Indiana

  • Age to ride: 15
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 15-16

Learn more about Indiana PWC laws here

#15Iowa

  • Age to ride: 12
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Iowa PWC laws here

#16Kansas

  • Age to ride: 16, younger with boater education
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 12-15

Learn more about Kansas PWC laws here

#17Kentucky

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 12-17

Learn more about Kentucky PWC laws here

#18Louisiana

  • Age to ride: 13
  • Boater education required for PWC riders under 21

Learn more about Louisiana PWC laws here

#19Maine

  • Age to ride: 16
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Maine PWC laws here

#20Maryland

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Maryland PWC laws here

#21Massachusetts

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 16-17

Learn more about Massachusetts PWC laws here

#22Michigan

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 16-17

Learn more about Michigan PWC laws here

#23Minnesota

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 14-17

Learn more about Minnesota PWC laws here

#24Mississippi

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Mississippi PWC laws here

#25Missouri

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Missouri PWC laws here

#26Montana

  • Age to ride: 13
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 13-14

Learn more about Montana PWC laws here

#27Nebraska

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Nebraska PWC laws here

#28Nevada

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Nevada PWC laws here

#29New Hampshire

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about New Hampshire PWC laws here

#30New Jersey

  • Age to ride: 13
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about New Jersey PWC laws here

#31New Mexico

  • Age to ride: 13
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about New Mexico PWC laws here

#32New York

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about New York PWC laws here

#33North Carolina

  • Age to ride: 14
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about North Carolina PWC laws here

#34North Dakota

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about North Dakota PWC laws here

#35Ohio

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Ohio PWC laws here

#36Oklahoma

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Oklahoma PWC laws here

#37Oregon

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Oregon PWC laws here

#38Pennsylvania

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Pennsylvania PWC laws here

#39Rhode Island

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Rhode Island PWC laws here

#40South Carolina

  • Age to ride: 16, younger with boater education
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 15-16

Learn more about South Carolina PWC laws here

#41South Dakota

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about South Dakota PWC laws here

#42Tennessee

  • Age to ride: 12
  • Boater education required for PWC riders under 21

Learn more about Tennessee PWC laws here

#43Texas

  • Age to ride: 13
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Texas PWC laws here

#44Utah

  • Age to ride: 18, 16 with boater education
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 16-17

Learn more about Utah PWC laws here

#45Vermont

  • Age to ride: 16
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Vermont PWC laws here

#46Virginia

  • Age to ride: 16, younger with boater education
  • Boater education required for PWC riders ages 14-16

Learn more about Virginia PWC laws here

#47Washington

  • Age to ride: 14
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Washington PWC laws here

#48West Virginia

  • Age to ride: 15
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about West Virginia PWC laws here

#49Wisconsin

  • Age to ride: 16, younger with boater education
  • Boater education required for all PWC riders

Learn more about Wisconsin PWC laws here

#50Wyoming

  • Age to ride: 16
  • No boater education required for PWC riders

Learn more about Wyoming PWC laws here

For more information about PWC rules in each state, be sure to visit the links above or the individual websites for each state’s Department of Recreation or Department of Natural Resources. Happy jet skiing!